Add a versioning system to allow running an old version of the test
Hey there,
To integrate Bugbug into my CI/CD and have my tests pass on multiple environments, I currently have to duplicate the tests and modify the changed parts, which is inefficient...
It would be great if we could have test versioning so that I could point the production-oriented test to the production environment (let's name it v1.0) and the development-oriented test (v1.1) to my development environment.
With that, when I deploy dev to prod, I'll be able to point the test I've already created for dev (v1.1) directly to production.
Without that, I'll have to spend time modifying the tests right after deploying dev to production, otherwise the tests would fail.
Log in to comment and vote
Comments5
Prolorus
Mar 4, 2025
I very much like the sound of BugBug DSL for things like version control and even creating tests in an IDE and importing them into BugBug!
Paweł Bylina
Mar 7, 2025
Thanks for your opinion! This is a huge challenge but could be a game-changer for customers and us as well!
Paweł Bylina
Nov 7, 2023
@Tegomass This feature request is awesome because it is part of a larger change we are likely planning for next year.
We want to introduce BugBug DSL - a textual representation of tests. With this, you will be able to modify tests using any IDE, branch as you describe, and revert changes (like in git).
Tegomass
Nov 3, 2023
Another use case is that if I update a test and break something, I want to be able to revert my changes.
There is currently no way to revert to the previous version.
Haian Abou-Karam
Nov 21, 2023
I have a suggestion for restoring previous versions of your tests. If not much time has passed between the breaking and the time of reverting the information, you can use the ‘Run History’ feature to see your previous steps. You can manually rebuild the steps from the history, especially if you want to restore long and hard worked JS code in any steps. I have used this method to restore my steps, and while it’s not very fast, it works until the new feature is done.